Where have my window title bars gone?

June 12, 2008

The weirdest thing happened tonight. I was just cruising along minding my own business when Ubuntu or Compiz or whatever just suddenly decided that I no longer required title bars on my windows. They were there one second, and gone the next. All my windows were still open, I just couldn’t drag them anywhere, minimize, maximise or close them. Kind of a big deal.

Being rather put out about this new development I immediately set about trying to find a cure. Here’s how I fixed it:

  1. Turn off extra visual effects in the System -> Appearance -> Visual Effects [tab]
  2. Turn visual effects back on
  3. Open a terminal session
  4. Run emerald –replace

I can only imagine that something went drastically wrong with Compiz because after doing that, everything is back to normal. Other than that little hiccup I have to say I’m still not missing Windows.

Leave a Reply

